Knowledge Base

Helpful hints, tutorials & Monitoring Advice

Section: Alerts Rules

Notification Rules

Notifications are the cornerstone of your monitoring system: letting the right people know as quickly as possible when something has occurred.

Here’s everything you can do on this page!

1) Create new rule:

Alert Rules are the conditions that trigger an alert. For example:

  • Your User Journey is taking too long
  • Your Real User Monitor reports unusually low traffic
  • An Intelligent Page Monitor is reporting an image isn’t loading

… and so on.

First, choose the relevant section from the Alerts menu. To make a Rule on one of your User Journeys, choose “User Journey Rules”. For website uptime, choose “Ping, TCP & HTTP Rules”, etc.

Depending on the section you’ll see a list of what you’ve previously added to RapidSpike: Journeys, Servers and Websites, IPMs, and so on. Choose one to add a Rule, then click the Add button.

Set your conditions (if applicable), select one or more Delivery Method(s), then press Create. That’s it, done!

Availability (Uptime) Alerts

Ping, TCP, HTTP and POST alerts work slightly differently. Rather than making a Rule, you simply apply a Delivery Method directly to a website or server. This will be triggered whenever any of the monitors on that server or website fail, for example:

  • Your website is down
  • An uptime monitor is failing (e.g. server TCP Port 80 is closed when it should be open)
  • A page content check reports that a word or phrase is no longer appearing

There are two other differences: 1) You can also attach Delivery Methods Account wide – this will attach it to all servers and websites in your account. 2) You can only add Delivery Methods one at a time.

2) Edit Existing Rules

If you’ve set up your Rules incorrectly or need to make a quick change simply navigate to which section your rule falls into (User journey, IPM etc.) and find the rule you’d like to edit under “RULES APPLIED TO THIS JOURNEY“. Simply click the + next to the rule in question and hit the “EDIT” button below the rule summary. This button will then launch a similar window to what popped-up during rule creation.

3) Delete Existing Rules

Like editing your Rules you’ll first need to navigate to which section your rule falls into (User journey, IPM etc.) and find the rule you’d like to edit under “RULES APPLIED TO THIS JOURNEY“. From there click the + next to the rule in question and hit the delete (bin) button.